The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

“‘I think all the good parts of us are connected on some level. The part that shares the last double chocolate chip cookie or donates to charity or gives a dollar to a street musician or becomes a candy striper or cries at Apple commercials or says I love you or I forgive you. I think that’s God. God is the connection of the very best parts of us'” (Yoon 2016, p. 272).

It’s been a while since I’ve posted here, so I apologize. I likely got distracted by something shiny. I’m aware I am VERY late to the party with this particular book review, but I wanted to share my thoughts anyways.

This was a title I read for a book club, but one that had been on my radar for a long time. After reading it, I wish that I had read it sooner, as I absolutely loved it. It felt so epic, so profound, like something everyone should read. It really makes the reader think about life in a new way, especially when it comes to fate and love. I’ve never personally believed in love at first sight. I think love requires mutual trust, understanding, and getting to know someone on a deeper level. Like Natasha, however, this book made me wonder if it could exist after all.

The Sun Is Also a Star follows the stories of two teenagers in New York heading to incredibly important appointments. Natasha and her family are undocumented immigrants from Jamaica, and she’s trying desperately to keep them from being deported after her dad got a DUI. Daniel’s parents are attempting to force him to study medicine at Yale so he can be successful, and have insisted that he attend an interview to get a recommendation.

The two meet by chance in a local music store, and there is an instant connection. Natasha doesn’t believe in fate or love, while Daniel is a hopeless romantic. He bets Natasha that he can make her fall in love with him in one day, and Natasha reluctantly accepts. What follows is a day that will change both of their lives forever.

The first thing I loved about this book is the interesting way in which it is formatted. I listened to the audiobook, which was a lot of fun because there is a narrator and two separate actors for both Natasha and Daniel. Not only does the narrative swap between the two characters at interesting points, but the narrator also interjects to either explain a concept (for example, the history of black hair) or discuss what a minor character is thinking. I loved this because it really prompts the reader to stop and think about things that we otherwise might not.

For example, one of the most pivotal moments in the book happens when Natasha encounters Irene, the security guard at the customs office. Natasha is initially annoyed that Irene seems to be purposefully taking a long time examining all of her belongings before sending them through the metal detector. This makes her late to her initial appointment, which sets off the entire chain of events in the novel. We later learn that Irene is desperate for human interaction, and looks at these items to learn more about each applicant who comes through her line.

What Natasha doesn’t know is that Irene has planned to commit suicide that night, but she calls the office anyways to thank Irene for making her late and changing the course of her life for the better. This simple phone call saves Irene’s life, and they later meet again when Natasha is an adult. This is a very stark reminder that even the tiniest interaction can be significant to someone’s life, and that treating others with kindness can go an extremely long way. Most of us likely don’t even think about our little day-to-day interactions, but this book reminds us that everyone has a story worth telling.

Another thing I loved about this book was the sheer amount of philosophy involved. Natasha and Daniel are both extremely intelligent in different ways. Daniel is a dreamer, and has a poetic mind with an excellent ability to read other people. While he has great emotional intelligence, Natasha is practical and scientific, viewing everything through the lens of chemistry and physics. We sometimes forget as adults that teenagers can have profound wisdom of their own, and many are wise beyond their years with important things to say. That’s how I felt about both of these characters, and I found myself really rooting for their romance to blossom.

Because I can’t sing the praises of this book enough, I also loved the discussions about cultures clashing, and how the older generation often struggles to embrace change based on their own experiences. Daniel’s parents want him to be a doctor and marry a Korean girl, and Natasha feels that her parents also wouldn’t want her to marry outside of her race if she ever got serious with someone. There are discussions in the book about how others judge interracial couples, or view them as some sort of novelty to be studied. At one point, Natasha describes America not as a melting pot, but as a tray with divided sections for each type of “food” or culture. I LOVED the metaphor here, and the discussions that can come from the conversations Daniel and Natasha have in the book.

This book hits on many topics without ever being preachy, which is honestly quite a feat considering how much is said in it. Among these topics are illegal immigration, depression, generational trauma, infidelity, loss, and found families. All are treated with the gravity they deserve, while also leaving room for some light-hearted humor. As I said before, this feels like a deeply important book, and I would encourage anyone who loves contemporary romance to give it a try. Even if you don’t enjoy romance, I think there is plenty in this book to engage your brain.

I truly think there is something to be learned by everyone who reads this book, and I continue to be astonished by Nicola Yoon’s way with words. I have now read two of her novels, and both have blown me away with amount of heart and passion she pours into her work. I can’t wait until I’m able to read more!

Reference:

Yoon N. (2016). The sun is also a star (First). New York: Delacorte Press.

Leave a comment